We have also included a short synopsis of each of the castles, including the history behind them and who they are now owned by.
Visitors can still climb the tower and discover the underground passage from the kitchen to the tower. Complete medieval fortified manor house, now part of organic and rare breeds farm.
Built around 1300 originally as an unfortified manor house, the two crenellated towers were added at either end of the hall in the early 16th century in order to strengthen its defences. Originally built as an undefended manor house, it was fortified on the outbreak of Anglo-Scottish Wars.
Most famously in recent years, Alnwick Castle featured as ‘Hogwarts’ in the first two Harry Potter films. Built when King William II took Westmorland from the Scots, the great castle keep, known as Caesar’s Tower dates from around 1170.
Now a private residence it is not open to the public. Founded by Roger de Montgomery in 1067, the castle was damaged during the English Civil War and restored throughout the 18th and 19th centuries.
Treasure belonging to Richard II is rumoured to be hidden in the castle grounds.
Restricted opening times and entrance charges apply.After the English Civil War the house fell into ruin. Vikings destroyed the original fortification in AD 993. Founded by the Normans shortly after the conquest, the castle enjoyed its heyday under Bernard de Bailliol during the latter half of the 12th century. Built sometime after 1100 by King Henry I, the castle played a significant role in both the civil war known as The Anarchy, and the First Barons’ War.The Normans built a new castle on the site, which forms the core of the current structure. The castle passed into the possession of Richard Neville, Earl of Warwick, and then to King Richard III, falling into ruins in the century after his death. Henry III besieged the castle in 1224, which lasted eight weeks.Home to the Middleton family, a new manor house was added to the tower in 1614.The castle was abandoned by the family in the early 19th century.These latter defences are thought to be the work of Thomas Lord Dacre (1467-1535). It was captured by the Scots in 1315, seized by English rebels two years later, and again occupied by Scots in 1346.